Quiet Miracles

I wish I had the presence of being in the moment more often. To see and hear, to be aware of the little miracles that come softly into my day. The ones that are not flashy or boastful. The ones that are small and gentle.

“Take time to see the quiet miracles that
seek no attention”
~ John O’Donohue

One such miracle is still lingering with me. It happened a few days ago. A wee one, just three, sitting and “reading” a book. On the cover was a rainbow and a dolphin. All he cared about was the rainbow.

Softly he began to sing

“Somewhere over the rainbow way up high
There’s a land that I heard of once in a lullaby
Somewhere over the rainbow skies are blue
And the dreams that you dare to dream really do come true”

The whole song. Every word. Every lingering note.

A few minutes before he had not been sitting, looking at a book and singing. The Light that burst forth from this child had been a whirlwind of energy and emotion not unlike the cartoon character Tasmanian Devil.

While he was spinning and twirling with seemingly endless energy and force he was most definitely seeking attention.

While he was singing this child was bathed from within with a Light that was not seeking any attention. He didn’t even know I was there. Watching him. Listening to him. Soaking up every last drop of his peace and happiness.

If I had not paused with him in his space between energy waves, or walked away to get away, I would not have heard his little voice softly singing or seen his Light so in love with the magic of singing a beautiful song about a rainbow.

When he finished he did look up at me smiling. He held up the book. “See, it’s a rainbow.”

That interlude, for him, subdued the commanding, rhythmic pattern of those energy waves and left him in a calmness I could never have helped him find no matter how hard I tried. And in that interlude, he was in the fact, the one who helped me find a calmness I could not have found without him.

“Take time to see the quiet miracles that
seek no attention”

october-aspen

** Check out some of this week’s readingsThis Week
Leave a Reply

