Oh My Heart

Last weekend my husband and I took a walk in a little nature preserve not far from our home. The snow had mostly melted. The icy spots were mostly gone. This meant we could take a little path down to the edge of a creek. There was a patch that was sun lit and very pretty. We stood there for a bit looking up and down the creek and feeling like spring was trying very hard to arrive. creek wallohearts (3)

After a few minutes we turned to look around and I burst out laughing in delight.

heart wall

There, tucked under tree roots was a wall of hearts! The gestures of untold numbers of people, over who knows how long, filled my heart up. My spirit lifted, my smile grew, I felt light and wonderful. Hearts. The heart.

Occasionally in life there are those moments of unutterable fulfillment
which cannot be completely explained by those symbols called words.
Their meanings can only be be articulated
by the inaudible language of the heart.
~Martin Luther King, Jr.

As the week progressed I carried in my heart all those other hearts…the stone ones as well as the human ones that created the wall of hearts. All those hearts made me think about things like finding my heart. Listening to my heart. Giving and sharing my heart. Filling my heart and tending to it. Trusting my heart. Opening it. And healing it. Lots of thoughts about the heart and how it represents the home of love.

“Love is a combination of care, commitment, knowledge,
responsibility, respect and trust.”
bell hooks

There seems to be so much fear and distrust everywhere. There is a sense that caring may lead to disappointment or hurt. Commitment comes with the requirement of time and patience that many feel they don’t have. There is a phenomenon Bill Moyers writes about called “anti-knowledge”.  A stepping away from facts and truth and living in a realm of “genuine ignorance” rather than seeking information, facts, knowledge and understanding. There is a great deal of touting of “doing the right thing” by  a variety of people. Yet they don’t really take responsibility for their own lack of knowledge, and personal responsibility…..like flying a private jet to a world conference on the environment. We can think of many other examples. Respect and trust seem like they are fading and disappearing in public discourse.

Yet, these are some of the most powerful ingredients in love.

As I thought about this during the week I came across a small quote by William Wordsworth. It captured why I write this blog.

“Fill your paper with the breathings of your heart.”

That’s all this is. The breath of my heart whispering to paper. Well, a computer screen and the internet….

This blog has become a journey of love and softness. I feel so strongly there is so much that could be attained if we could let go of hate and fear, religious dogma and focus on helping and loving each other.

This morning the sunrise was piercingly beautiful. I could sense it, feel it before I even opened my eyes. I was eager to open my eyes to visually experience it. There was no worry of the day at hand. No grumbling of things I had to do, things I had to face, troubles and problems that might cloud my day. Just a sunrise. That is what I wish we could all do…just see the beauty that is in front of us. To be reminded we have another day to give love so that others my receive love.

“Wake at dawn with a winged heart
and give thanks for another day of loving.”
~Kahlil Gibran

There is a lot of space in our heart. Room for everyone. Including ourselves. There is room for anger and disappointment, hurt and pain to be held until it can be wrapped in loving forgiveness and softened and returned to love.

“When you begin to touch your heart or let your heart be touched, you begin to discover that it’s bottomless, that it doesn’t have any resolution, that this heart is huge, vast, and limitless. You begin to discover how much warmth and gentleness is there, as well as how much space.” ~Pema Chodron

There are a great many good and wonderful people and things in the world. There is also a great deal of hate and fear. I check in with myself all the time to understand why fear is popping it’s head up. There is no one we need to hate. There should be no one we need fear. We have to open doors that may be rusted shut, creaky or even locked. To let love in.

“Love opens all doors, no matter how closed they may be, no matter how rusty from lack of use. Your work is to bring unity and harmony, to open all doors which have been closed for a long time. Have patience and tolerance. Open your heart all the time.” Maharishi Mahesh Yogi

I teach the preschoolers I work with that in being kind and doing kind, loving things for other we fill ourselves up with love. The happiness and well being of others, ALL others, impacts our own sense of well being.

“The greatest degree of inner tranquility comes from the development
of love and compassion.
The more we care for the happiness of others,
the greater is our own sense of well-being.”
~Tenzin Gyatso

These days we talk a lot about whether there are, and what the distinctions are between others. The poor, the oppressed, the mentally ill, gay, Christian, Muslim. We may talk of them in kindness and tolerance, but the distinctions are what separates us. And therein lies part of the problem. We see ourselves as separate…we distinguish ourselves from others in some way. So we are not them. So they are the “Other”. When we view someone as the “Other” we give ourselves permission to judge rather than love. We need a cessation of distinction.

“When there is true brotherliness, friendliness, when there is love in your heart, then you will not talk of tolerance. Only when you feel superior in your certainty, in your position, in your knowledge, only then do you talk of tolerance. You are tolerant only when there is distinction. With the cessation of distinction, there will be no talk of tolerance. Then you will not talk of brotherhood, for then in your hearts you are brothers.” ~ Krishnamurti

When we are truly brothers and sisters we will care about and love one another and keep each other safe and healthy. We will understand that we all love and are loved. We will want others to have the same blessings we have. We will love with no limits or boundaries. Imagine what is behind the unlocked and opened door of love.

“You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one. I hope someday you’ll join us. And the world will live as one.”  ~John Lennon

Have a beautiful Sunday.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Oh My Heart

  1. Awesome! I have been journaling on the subject of love this year as my personal growth word for the year. Thanks Joanne C

Leave a Reply

