Flowing

“Your life and my life flow into each other as wave flows into wave,

and unless there is peace and joy and freedom for you,

there can be no real peace or joy or freedom for me.

To see reality–not as we expect it to be but as it is—

is to see that unless we live for each other and in and through each other,

we do not really live very satisfactorily;

that there can really be life only where there really is,

in just this sense, love.”

Frederick Buechner

thur sun

(photograph by me, Kathryn Howlett)

Facebook is interesting to me. I have reconnected with friends from long ago, become friends with people I have never met, found a voice I didn’t know I had, and decided I like taking photographs.

I posted the above quote a few weeks ago because I found it beautiful. Stunning. Passionate. Full of promise. A kind of grounding to reality….to what is important.

Some friends didn’t “get” it. “We are not bound to each other.” “I only live for myself.” “I don’t care if others have peace, joy or freedom.”

There was a moment, when reading these other reflections, when I found myself holding my breath. Really? Not everyone feels, believes, that we ARE bound to one another? That the other’s peace an joy and freedom allows us have and feel peace and joy and freedom?

It matters to me. I may live a different kind of life from others in different places here in the US and in the world….. I may have more, or not as much. My sorrows and my hurts may be caused by different things. My joys and happiness may be triggered by different things. My goals and ambitions may be different. My fears and worries may be different.

What is the same is that we all have those feelings, those ambitions. What is the same is we love, are loved, have been loved, will be loved. Someone’s heart sang when we were born. Someone will cry and hurt when we die. We are bound by love.

The reality, not as we expect it to be, but how it really is, tells us that “unless we live for each other and in and through each other, we really do not live very satisfactorily.”

Fundamentally I believe this. I understand completely there are bad and evil people out there who do horrible things to people…and it makes this idea of being bound to everyone by and through love, very difficult.

Yet, I stand by it.

4 thoughts on “Flowing

  1. We are bound even more now by the pace of the internet, FB, news sites….. It becomes impossible to ignore the pain in the world. More the reason to find quiet practices. Thank you for being a reminder.

  2. “satisfactorily”: I am going to start using this word 🙂

    Who is bad and evil? If I cannot be free if you are not free, then I am not free. If I see you as free, would I also see me as free? If I see you as evil, do I see myself as evil, being that we are united, bound with one another?

    • Good question. I had in my mind arguments I have heard from others: “How can you love Saddam Hussein? He is a terrible, bad man.” How can I not. I love comments. Thank you so much for taking the time to question. I think you followed my other blog, correct?
      Kathyn

Leave a Reply

