Before I Open My Eyes

In the still dark hours of early morning, the baby birds outside our bedroom window begin to stir. I can sense, through my closed eyes, that the darkness in the sky is giving way to light. Before I open my eyes I breathe. In and out. In and out. I silently chant, “I am breathing in. I am breathing out.” Repeat. And repeat again.

In the stillness and quiet, I am. I pause in this space in order to just “be” for a fleeting moment in time.

I become grounded. I become steady, tethered to something indescribable.

Then I open my eyes and am spun into a world of life, color, vibrancy. Bird song fills the air. Color saturates the world.

sunrise4

 (photograph by me, Kathryn Howlett)

In these moments, I come to understand that I am part of it all. This is my journey. This is where my learning and understanding begins: with the songs the sunrise sings to me each day.

Leave a Reply

